Lecture Stories pt. 3

Loving the responses that I have been getting, thank-you so much for all your time and effort in providing me with detailed comments. Keep them coming!

Upon reflection of last weeks question regarding laptops within the lecture space in ‘Lecture Stories Pt. 2’, I have discovered a common theme: conversation and the notion of hearing. As pointed out by Kate Bowles, lecturing is somewhat described as speaking to strangers in public about what you’re thinking without really knowing what your audience is thinking. Within the typical lecture setting there is a one-way progression of thoughts where information is disseminated with very minimal response with non-verbal communication.

There is a constant question regarding if students are actually attentive listening without the need to call for compulsory attentive attendance. This impacts the feedback that lecturers receive as they rely on non-verbal communication from students to let them know if they are on the right track or if the lecture is not getting through. With shifting modes, this communication and reassurance has also leapt into the digital paradigm where the live Twitter feed has become a part of the lecture space where students and lecturers can communicate–thus breaking the wall and allowing multi-directional conversation.

This leads me to my next question:

How has the digital paradigm (being twitter and online recordings of lectures) impacted the lecture space, students and lecturer teaching methods?

If you’re a lecturer or active within lectures and would like to take part of this online discussion about your experiences comment below and find a link here to my Project Information and the intentions of my research.

2 thoughts on “Lecture Stories pt. 3”

  1. I’m so enjoying this series of questions, Monique. Thanks for the opportunity to think along with you.

    For me, awareness that the lecture is being recorded made me quite self conscious initially as I have a tendency to think out loud, and I would sometimes worry if I’d said something inappropriate. Yes, this includes swearing, which I do often. It’s just how I talk, and I have to remind myself not to. I had to train myself to watch the recordings to check sound levels as I mostly don’t like watching myself speak.

    I don’t find Twitter distracting at all as I’m a Twitter user myself, so I have a sense of the backchannel being a good way for people to co-compose their reactions to something. So I really welcome Twitter participation, as it seems to me that this brings a chorus of other voices to the questions I’m worrying over. During a lecture I will often skim the Twitter feed as I’m going along.

    After a lecture I will often like or retweet things from the Twitter feed because for me they’ve added to my thoughts. And I love that Twitter enables me to follow lectures in other subjects, just as I follow conferences and events in other places.

    Overall, I think the digital channels make things richer and potentially create more space for student voice in the lecture. So my next thing is to examine Google Slides Q & A to see about bringing those strands together. It’s all a bit experimental, and the secret is not to let the experimentation overwhelm the thoughts and ideas.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

