Philosophy of Journalism Statement

Pens scrawling across the page.

Undercurrent buzz of chatter.

Ideas thrown.

Mixed.

Reshaped.

I have always had a love for writing and reading and so initially I wanted to be an author. After multiple trial and error attempts, I concluded that it wasn’t the road I was meant to take.  As life took over, I found myself obsessed with popular culture, travel and entertainment, and so decided to join both.

Voila! Journalism.

The first day at university was bitter-sweet and started with a bang! Independence is key, one thing that I am still struggling to determine on my own. Its true what they say ‘you don’t know what you had until its gone’, well its definitely gone now! It was the constant support from teachers at high school that up until now I didn’t realize I relied on so much. It’s now a matter of finding my own feet, closing my eyes and taking a leap.

Even if that leap only half a meter long.

What if the all faith entrusted leap find me stopped by a river —the fear of irrelevance. Journalism is not evaporating but evolving, changing, and we much change with it in order to stay ahead—however, the question continues to play in my head- ‘How far are you willing to go?’

Pursuing a career in mainly entertainment or travel journalism, the sky is literally the limit. The world is immersed into the world that is entertainment, however, it is providing fresh perceptions that will set me apart from the rest. There is so much access to rich culture and undiscovered gems in the world, and I am determined to indulge and share my experiences with the world.

There is much more to learn. I am merely touching upon the path of my journey toward my goal as a professional entertainment/travel journalist. I need to improve my writing skills to deliver a concise yet engaging piece of work.

I intend to write articles for leisure next semester in an aim to familiarize myself with writing in an article like fashion.

The start of my career will end very much like how it began, a mix of trial and error.

Pens scrawling across the page.

Undercurrent buzz of chatter.

Ideas thrown.

Mixed.

Reshaped.

Leave a Reply

