Current intermission

Wake up call at 6am.

Fully occupied bus.

Holding on for dear life as the  bus shunted toward uni.

Welcome to the next 3 years!IMG_20150226_145325

As a first year, the first day at university is different for everyone, mine however was a mix of excitement and expectation.

Within the four month intermission–or much needed break from the HSC–many people reinvented themselves rendering their “old” identity as a thing of the past looking to the future with a new shade upon their head, or a fake tan, 3 times darker than their skin colour. Others came out of their shell whilst some became introverted.

I however didn’t deviate from the path that I was on and the identity I had forged over the last 18 years.

So, Hola!

My name is Monique Lombardo. I am a first year student at University of Wollongong studying a bachelor of communication and media majoring in journalism.

Here’s just a little bit about me…

I am 18 years old and have the birth sign of twins–the gemini. I live at Narellan so that means I need to commute by bus to get to uni! For as long as I can remember I have been a dancer across most genres. As time went on and the natural process of growing up took place, I decided that it wasn’t  profession that I wanted to pursue.

Here I am, currently undertaking BCM112, BCM110 and JRNL101. I want to take these classes to challenge my ideas of the world and broaden my knowledge of the changes in media.

Why journalism?

I love taking preconceived ideas or notions and adding a spin thus providing a different insight into an already stressed topic. It is this that I believe will contribute to the change in media in this era.

Leave a Reply

